User Management

The Users page supports a number of important user management features:

- Automatic creation and approval of users
- Manual adding of users including bulk-loading
- Automatic assignment of roles to users.  (A role defines which apps a user has access too.  These are configured on the Roles page described below).

Assigning roles to user based on email address

The Rules section on the Users page lists the automatic role-assignment rules that have been created.  A rule maps an email address pattern to a role.   This means that new users whose email address contains a pattern that corresponds to one of the rules will have the associated role assigned to them.   A role specifies which micro-apps the user has access too on their mobile client.   Roles are configured on the Roles page (described in the Roles section).

To create a new rule, click Add Rule and fill in the email pattern to be matched against.  Click Create

If you would like the automatically-assigned role for the new pattern to be other than the default, select another role from the drop-down.   To delete a rule, click on the Remove link that corresponds to the rule.

If you would like new users to be automatically approved, select the Automatic Approval option.  If this is not selected, users will need to be manually approved as described below.

Configuring the support email address

To specify the email address for support queries for your ONE instance, enter it in the Support section in the Support Email field and click Save.  The support email is referenced in the welcome email to new users.

Adding new users manually

To add new users manually go down to the Users section on the Users page.

To create a single user, click on Create User and enter the first name, last name and email address.   Select the appropriate role and language and click Save.

To bulk load users, click on Import Users and specify a CSV file that has column names (literally) firstname, lastname, email address, role and language.

Managing Active Users

The Active Users section supports searching users, granting admin access, account lock-out (and unlock), profile editing and account removal.

 

Searching for an active user

To search for an active user, enter text in the Search box that corresponds to the user’s name.   All users that match that text in the first name, last name, role or email field will be displayed.

 

Granting admin access

To grant administrative access to a user, click on the Admin link in the Admin column corresponding to the user’s name.  To remove access, click on the No Admin link that corresponds to the user’s name.   Administrative access allows a user to perform administrative functions like user management.

 

Locked accounts

To remove access to a user (non-administrator), click on the Lock link corresponding to the user’s name.   To restore access to a locked account, click on the Unlock link corresponding to the user’s name.
 

Change profile properties

To change the first name, last name or role for a user, click on the Edit link corresponding to the user’s name.    An Edit User dialog will appear.   Click on Save to store the changes.

 

Deleting an account

To delete an account, click on the Delete link corresponding to the user’s name.    Deleting a user from the active user list can be undone from the Deleted Users section.

Managing Pending Users

The Pending Users section supports searching pending users (users that have made an account request) and the approving or declining an account request.

 

Searching for a pending user

To search for a pending user, enter text in the Search box that corresponds to the user’s name.   All users that match that text in the first name, last name, role or email field will be displayed.
 

Approving or declining an account request

To approve a pending user, click the Approve link corresponding to the user’s name.   To decline an account request, click the Decline link corresponding to the user’s name.

Managing Unactivated Users

To complete the activation process, the user must confirm their email address by clicking on the validation link in the registration email that is sent to them after they make the account request.   If the user does not receive the email or does not click on the link within a reasonable timeframe, the account can not be activated.   If the user would still like to create an account with the same email address, an administrator has to remove the unactivated account before the user can re-request the account. To remove the unactivated account, click on the Delete link that corresponds to the user in the Not yet activated users list.

Managing Deleted Users

The Deleted Users section list users that have been deleted but not permanently.   To restore a user (i.e. to undo a delete action described above), click on the Restore link corresponding to the users name.  To permanently delete a user, click on the Delete link corresponding to the users name.

Share this page
X
Tell your colleagues and friends about Sitrion. Choose a social channel below to share this page.